top of page

Happy birthday, Gus!

My little boy was born one year ago today!

This is his first portrait session with Mama. The background is my very first woven wrap, which I had carefully chosen and hoarded for his arrival. I love the idea of using meaningful textiles in a photoshoot, from the expected things like blankets or vintage baby clothes to more unexpected things (I've used the skirt of a wedding dress as a newborn shoot background!)

These photos mean so much to me because I don't have any just-born newborn photos of my older daughter, Anne. She was a preemie and was whisked away to the NICU as soon as she was born. I didn't get to take her out of her isolette for a few weeks after that. Of course I made up for it by taking a thousand million photos of her since but I still mourn the fact that I don't have squishy newborn photos of her, too! When I look at these pics of Gus I am taken right back to the first days of velvety newborn skin and curled up legs, rare glimpses of eyes and sweet smelling hair.

Just goes to show you how powerful photos can be.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, AUGUSTUS! We love you so much. <3

At CJV Photography, newborn shoots can be scheduled at home or in the hospital, and run $225 for an hour-long session with 15 digital images. Packages for maternity and first birthday shoots are available.

To see more newborn and maternity work, visit the Babies and Bumps gallery.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page